ICMS Board of Directors 2021 Election Certification

January 17, 2021 ICMS Admin News Tags: , , , , , ,

In accordance with the By-Laws of the International Council of Motorsport Sciences (ICMS) filed with the Secretary of the State of Indiana, we hereby certify and warrant that all ballots submitted by the ICMS membership voting for the ICMS Board of Directors have been counted and voting has ended at the close of business (5:00 pm EST) on January 16, 2021.

The result, listed in alphabetical order, announces those elected to the Board of Directors:

  • Tara Amenson, Ph.D
  • David Ferguson, Ph.D
  • Matthew MacPartlin, M.D.

The newly elected members will take office immediately following the Board of Directors meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana on December 11, 2019. The Board of Directors will, on that date, elect its officers for 2020.

Certified and warranted:
Matthew MacPartlin, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer & Tom Weisenbach, Executive Director


About our newly elected members of the Board of Directors:

Tara Amenson, Ph.D
Dr. Amenson received her Bachelor of Science degree in Exercise and Sport Science from Colorado State University, followed by a Master of Public Health from the Northwest Ohio Consortium for Public Health. Subsequently at Wayne State University she received her Master of Science and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering with a focus on impact biomechanics.  She spent the next five years at the Transportation Research Center, Inc., where she was a contractor to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Vehicle Research and Test Center (VRTC) in the biomechanics and crashworthiness divisions. At present she is responsible for accident investigation and reconstruction of incidents involving vehicles, products, or biomechanical injury for S-E-A Limited in Columbus, Ohio. A long-standing member of the ICMS, Tara currently serves as Chair of the Annual Congress Curriculum Committee.
David Ferguson, Ph.D
Dr. Ferguson is an Assistant Professor of Exercise Physiology specializing in motorsport at Michigan State University. With over 15 years of experience in professional auto racing, Dr. Ferguson’s forte is supporting racing drivers by helping them improve their performance while staying safe. He began his journey by earning a Bachelor of Science degree in Kinesiology from the University of Nevada Las Vegas. Following this, he earned a Master of Science in Clinical Exercise Physiology from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. During this time, he began working with NASCAR pit crews to improve their health and performance. He went on to earn a PhD in Exercise Physiology from Texas A&M University and completed a Postdoctoral Fellowship in Nutrition and Cardiovascular Physiology at Baylor College of Medicine. He has published multiple key scientific papers on the physiology of auto racing and written a book on the topic. His expertise supported drivers in NASCAR, IndyCar, Formula 1 and IMSA.  David is passionate about mentoring students in motorsport physiology and frequently oversees several student-led motorsport projects a year. A member of the Board of Directors of the ICMS for the past three years, David serves as member-at-large on the ICMS Executive and oversaw a review of the ICMS Bylaws in 2019.
Matthew MacPartlin, M.D.
Dr. Mac Partlin is an Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine physician who grew up in Dublin, Ireland and now lives in Sydney, Australia. He has been actively involved in motor sports medicine, both on and off the track, for over twenty years. He works with several Australian motorsport response agencies and his local track is Sydney Motorsport Park. Matthew is a Motorsport Australia National Medical Advisory Committee member and is on the board of the Australian Institute for Motorsport Safety and Sustainability. He is the medical assessor for Speedway Australia and is currently the Deputy Chief Medical Officer for both the WRC Rally Australia and the Australian Formula One Grand Prix. Dr Mac Partlin has been dedicated to training and knowledge translation for critical care and motorsport medical response. He is the founder and author for the Rollcage Medic blog and podcast and a co-founder and author for the Intensive Care Network blog. He established and runs the annual Medicine and Rescue in Motorsport training day held at the WRC Rally Australia event. Matthew likes tinkering with medical 3D printing, ride road and mountain bikes and is a fledgling drummer.  A member of the Board of Directors of the ICMS for the past three years, Matthew currently serves as ICMS Treasurer and Membership Committee Chair.


The International Council of Motorsport Sciences (ICMS) is an organization of professional persons in the scientific, medical, and educational aspects of the human element in motor sport.



Address: 5139 Greenheart Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46237

Email: info@theicms.org